Process Quotes
| Platform: | AvailableWebNot availableMobile |
|---|---|
| Plan Type: | Not availableBasicNot availableEssentialAvailablePremiumAvailableEnterprise |
| User Type: | Not availableRequesterNot availableFull UserAvailableAdministrator |
*Requires the MaintainX® for Service add-on.
Quote Process Overview​
After you create a quote, you share it with customer contacts so they can review it, and either approve or reject it.
- Approved quotes are ready for work. You can convert them to new work orders or link them to existing ones, then share the work orders with customers.
- Rejected quotes can be reopened, updated, and sent for review again, or left as rejected.
The following diagram shows the steps in the quote process and who does each one. Blue steps are done by your team. Purple steps are done by customer contacts.
Share a Quote​
Both Full Users and Administrators can share quotes with customer contacts.
After you create a quote, you can share it with selected customer contacts so they can review the details and approve or reject the quote.
-
From the sidebar, select Quotes.
-
From the Pending quotes tab, select the quote you want to share from the Not sent list to display its details.
-
Optionally, review the quote details before sending. You can edit the quote to make any needed updates or corrections.
-
Select Send for Review. The Send Quote dialog opens.
-
Select Enable sharing.
-
In the Contacts to send field, add one or more customer contacts to share the quote with.
You can select from the customer's existing contacts, or add a recipient inline by entering an email address and selecting Add.
-
Select Send to contacts.
What Happens When You Share a Quote​
When you share a quote, MaintainX creates a link to the quote and emails it to each selected customer contact. The link opens a unique web page with the quote details that contacts can review and comment on. Contacts with a Guest user account are directed to MaintainX, where they can see the quote directly in the Quotes module.
Quote links expire after 30 days, but you can generate new ones if you need to. While a link is only shared with selected customer contacts, it's accessible to anyone who has it. If you suspect a quote link might be compromised, you can revoke it and generate a new one. For more information, see Revoke or Regenerate a Shared Quote Link.
MaintainX also does the following:
- Changes the quote status from Not Sent to Awaiting Approval.
- Adds a Share Settings link to the quote details so you can revoke or regenerate the link. This link is not visible to Guest users.
Customer Quote Reviews​
After you share a quote with customer contacts, they can review the details and do any of the following:
-
Leave comments for your team.
Comments appear in the details pages for their respective quotes. If you reply to a comment, it appears in the shared quote page.
-
Download a copy of the quote as a PDF.
-
Approve the quote. You can now convert the quote to a work order for your service team. See Handle Approved Quotes.
noteDepending on your configuration, a customer contact might have to provide a purchase order number and/or a signature to approve a quote. For more information, see Quote Settings.
-
Reject the quote. Decide whether to reopen and resend the quote, or take no further action. See Handle Rejected Quotes.
When a quote is approved or rejected, MaintainX does the following:
- Updates the quote status accordingly to Approved or Rejected.
- Notifies your organization by email.
- Adds a timestamp for the approval or rejection to the quote details.
Revoke or Regenerate a Shared Quote Link​
A shared quote link expires after 30 days, at which time you have to generate a new one. If you suspect a link is compromised, you can revoke it at any time. Share settings are only available for quotes with the Awaiting Approval status.
-
From the sidebar, select Quotes.
-
From the Pending quotes tab, select the quote you want to share from the Awaiting approval list to display its details.
-
Select Share Settings. The Send Quote dialog opens.
-
Toggle Enable Sharing to do one of the following:
- On: to regenerate an expired link.
- Off: revoke the existing link.
- Off and on again: revoke the current link and immediately generate a new one.
-
(Optional) If you generated a new link to share, verify that the Contacts to send list is still correct.
-
Select Send to contacts to email the new link.
Handle Approved Quotes​
When a customer approves a quote, MaintainX does the following:
- Sets the quote status to Approved, and moves it to the Approved tab in the Quotes module.
- Adds an approval timestamp to the quote details and the shared quote page.
- Sends an email notification to your organization.
You can then create a new work order from the quote, or link the quote to an existing work order so your team can get started.
Create New Work Order From an Approved Quote​
-
From the sidebar, select Quotes.
-
On the Approved quotes tab, go to the Needs Work Order list and select the quote you want to create a work order for.
-
Select Create Work Order. The New Work Order form opens.
-
Fill in the work order form fields as needed (see Work Order Form Fields).
MaintainX automatically adds customer information from the quote to the work order.
-
Select Create.
Link a Quote to an Existing Work Order​
-
From the sidebar, select Quotes.
-
On the Approved quotes tab, go to the Needs Work Order list and select the quote you want to link to a work order.
-
Select Link Work Order. The Link Work Order dialog opens.
By default, the dialog filters for work orders that have the same Customer and Location as the quote you're linking.
-
Select Link.
Handle Rejected Quotes​
When a customer rejects a quote, MaintainX does the following:
- Sets the quote status to Rejected, and moves it to the Rejected tab in the Quotes module.
- Adds a rejection timestamp to the quote details and the shared quote page.
- Adds the customer's explanation, if available, to the quote details.
You can then do any of the following:
- Delete the rejected quote.
- Create a new quote for the customer.
- Reopen the quote so you can update and resend it.
Reopen and Resend a Rejected Quote​
When you reopen a rejected quote, you can update any of its fields before resending it to the customer to review again. Reopening a quote automatically revokes the existing shared quote link. You can create and share a new one when you resend the quote.
- From the sidebar, select Quotes.
- From the Rejected quotes tab, select the quote you want to reopen to display its details.
- In the quote details, select Reopen Quote.
- Edit the quote as needed. For example, to add or remove line items or customer contacts, or update prices.
- After you edit the quote, select Send for Review to resend the quote with a new shared link.
Customer contacts receive a new shared link for the quote so they can review the updates, and decide again whether to approve or reject the quote.