Skip to main content

Suspend or Delete a Permit

availability
Feature availability by platform, plan type, and user type
Platform:AvailableWebAvailableMobile
Plan Type:Not availableBasicNot availableEssentialNot availablePremiumAvailableEnterprise
User Type:Not availableRequesterNot availableFull UserAvailableAdministrator

This article explains how to suspend or delete a permit on a work order.

Suspend a Permit on a Work Order​

availability

This feature is only available on the MaintainX® web application.

In some situations, work may need to stop after a permit has been approved or becomes active. Users with the appropriate permissions can suspend a permit, which changes its status to Suspended and blocks progress on the work order.

Suspending a permit always requires a reason. Once the issue has been resolved, a user with the appropriate permissions can resume the permit, allowing work to continue.

To suspend a permit:

  1. From the sidebar, select Work Orders.
  2. Select the work order with the permit you want to suspend.
  3. Select the permit.
  4. In the permit, select (more options).
  5. Select Suspend.
  6. Enter the reason why you want to suspend the permit.
  7. Select Suspend.

The permit is now suspended, and the work order is now locked.

Resume a Suspended Permit on a Work Order​

  1. From the sidebar, select Work Orders.
  2. Select the work order with the permit you want to resume.
  3. Select the permit.
  4. In the permit, select (more options).
  5. Select Resume.

The permit is now back to its last status before the suspension.

Delete a Permit on a Work Order​

  1. From the sidebar, select Work Orders.
  2. Navigate to the work order from which you want to delete the permit.
  3. Select the permit.
  4. Select (more options).
  5. Select Delete.
  6. Select Delete permit to confirm.
note

If the Require permit to work option was selected on the work order, the work order remains blocked until a new active permit is associated with it. If the work order doesn't require a permit, you can continue working on it.