Skip to main content

User Roles and Permissions

availability
Feature availability by platform, plan type, and user type
Platform:AvailableWebAvailableMobile
Plan Type:AvailableBasicAvailableEssentialAvailablePremiumAvailableEnterprise
User Type:AvailableRequesterAvailableFull UserAvailableAdministrator

This article explains the different user roles, and outlines role permissions in MaintainX®.

Default User Roles

A MaintainX organization has the following default user roles. For details about what the different user roles can and can’t do, see User Permissions Quick Reference.

  • Requester: Requester accounts are designed for users to let the organization know about work that needs to be done.

    • Requester users can create work requests, and view and comment on requests they create.
    • Requester accounts are free. Your Administrators can create as many as your organization needs.
  • Full User: Full User accounts are for maintenance teams, and other people in your organization who do and manage work.

    • Full users can create and manage work orders, and other entities such as assets and locations.
    • A Full User account requires a paid license. For details, see the MaintainX pricing page.
  • Administrator: Administrator accounts are for the people who manage and administer your organization.

    • The user who creates the organization is an administrator by default.
    • Administrators have all of the privileges of Full Users, plus access to features such as reporting, team and user management, data export, and organization settings.
    • An Administrator account requires a paid license. For details, see the MaintainX pricing page.
note

When you buy a paid license of MaintainX, it can be configured as a Full User account or an Administrator account. While the two accounts have different permissions, the per-license cost is the same.

Custom Roles

availability

Custom Roles are available on Enterprise plans only. For more information, contact your MaintainX representative.

A custom role is a role you can tailor to your organization's needs. The default permissions for a custom role are based on the Full User role. Custom roles allow Administrators to manage permissions for specific positions, like site technicians or maintenance managers, who might need more permissions than the default Full User role provides. For more information, see Custom Roles.

Learn More

Understanding Permissions in MaintainX

As a MaintainX user, you have different levels of permissions. Below is a breakdown of the different levels of permissions and how they can impact a user.

Role Permissions

Default Role Permissions

When a user joins an organization, they’re assigned a role that can be a default role like a Full User or Requester role. These roles come with a default set of permissions that define what they can do and see in MaintainX. For more information, see User Permissions Quick Reference.

Custom Role Permissions

When a user joins an organization, they're assigned a role that can be a custom role. Custom role permissions allow Administrators to add or remove permissions for a user in their organization. Custom roles provide the flexibility to tailor permissions for users in an organization for specific entities. For a breakdown of permissions Administrators can customize, see Create a Custom Role.

Team Permissions

A user can also be added to a team. A team can have a specific set of permissions, set by a MaintainX representative that enable its members to handle specific tasks for an organization. Only a MaintainX representative can customize these team permissions.

Team permissions supersede any role permissions the user has, such as those from a default role or custom role. However, any custom user permissions that MaintainX adds for the user will supersede team permissions and role permissions.

For example, if the user is assigned a role without the permission to edit work orders, but is part of a team with custom permissions set to “Edit Any Work Order,” the user can edit any work order in the organization.

User Permissions

A user is a member of one of your MaintainX organizations. A MaintainX representative can set custom permissions for a user. Those custom permissions supersede the user's role permissions and any team-level custom permissions.

For example, a user has the default role of Full User, but you want them to be able to create custom reports in the Reporting module. You can request that your MaintainX representative add the custom permission, "Custom Report Create," to that user's permissions.

User Permissions Quick Reference

The following sections list default user permissions in MaintainX for some frequently used features.

customization

Administrators on an Enterprise plan can request additional customized permissions for users in an organization. Contact your MaintainX representative for assistance.

Work Orders

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoYesYes
AssignNoYesYes
ViewNoYesYes
EditNoYesYes
CompleteNoYesYes
DeleteNoYes*Yes*Full Users can only delete work orders that they create.
Cancel/SkipNoYes*Yes*Full Users can only cancel work orders that they create.
Fill ProcedureNoYesYes
Change StatusNoYesYes

Work Requests

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateYesNoNo
ViewYes*NoYes*Requesters can only view work requests that they create.
EditYes*NoYes*Requesters can only edit work requests that they create.
Approve/declineNoNoYes
DeleteNoNoYes

Assets

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoYesYes
ViewNoYesYes
EditNoYesYes
DeleteNoYes*Yes*Full Users can only delete assets that they create.
Change StatusNoYesYes

Locations

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoYesYes
ViewNoYesYes
EditNoYesYes
DeleteNoYes*Yes*Full Users can only delete locations that they create.

Meters

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoYesYes
EditNoYesYes
DeleteNoYesYes

Parts

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoYesYes
EditNoYesYes
DeleteNoYes*Yes*Full Users can only delete parts that they create.

Procedures

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoYesYes
Create with AINoYesYes
EditNoYesYes
Share to the Procedure HubNoNoYes
DeleteNoYes*Yes*Full Users can only delete procedures that they create.

Purchase Orders

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoYesYes
ApproveNoNoYes
EditNoNoYes
DeleteNoNoYes
CompleteNoNoYes
FulfillNoYesYes

Work Order Templates

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoNoYes
EditNoNoYes
DeleteNoNoYes

Categories

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoYesYes
EditNoYesYes
DeleteNoYes*Yes*Full Users can only delete categories that they create.

Vendors

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoNoYes
EditNoNoYes
DeleteNoNoYes

Organization

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
Invite UsersNoYesYes
Remove UsersNoNoYes
Manage BillingNoNoYes
ReportingNoNoYes

Teams and Users

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoYes*YesFull users can invite new Requesters and Full Users. They cannot invite new Administrators.

Administrators can invite new users of any type.
ViewYesYesYes
EditNoNoYes*Administrators can change the user type for other users. E.g., promote a Requester user to a Full User.

Customers

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
CreateNoNoYes
ViewNoYesYes
EditNoNoYes
DeleteNoNoYes

Messaging

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
Direct MessagesYesYesYes
CommentsYes*YesYes*Requester users can comment on requests that they create.

Reporting

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
View ReportsNoNoYes
Create Custom DashboardsNoNoYes

Hourly Rates

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
Set/EditNoNoYes
Change VisibilityNoNoYes

Subscription

PermissionRequesterFull UserAdministratorNotes
ViewNoNoYes
ChangeNoNoYes
Work Order Visibility

When you set the Work Order Visibility permission to Limited Visibility or Only those they created or are assigned to, the To-Do view in the Work Orders module only shows work orders that the user created, or is directly assigned to. MaintainX can still show some work orders in the Work Order History section of an entity linked to the work order (e.g., an Asset, or a Location) when the user’s team is responsible for that entity. That way, users can see work performed on assets or locations their team manages, even when they aren’t directly assigned to those work orders.